Which scenario correctly describes a "ball in play"?

Maximize your PGA Comprehension exam readiness! Engage with this quiz featuring multiple-choice questions with hints and explanations. Ace your test and enhance your career opportunities in golf management.

A "ball in play" refers to any ball that is currently being used in a round of golf and has not been declared out of play by the rules. In the context of the provided choices, when a ball is at rest in a penalty area, it remains in play. This means that the player still has the option to play the ball, potentially under specific rules that apply to penalty areas.

The other choices do not depict a ball that is in play. For instance, a ball lifted from the putting green is not in play because it has been removed from play; similarly, when a ball has been teed on the teeing ground, it is only in play once it is struck and put into motion. Lastly, once a ball has been holed, it is considered out of play, as the objective of the hole has been achieved. Therefore, the scenario where the ball is at rest in a penalty area accurately describes a ball that is still actively in play, allowing for potential continuation of play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy