What is the ruling if a player picks up their ball on the 9th green without holing out?

Maximize your PGA Comprehension exam readiness! Engage with this quiz featuring multiple-choice questions with hints and explanations. Ace your test and enhance your career opportunities in golf management.

When a player picks up their ball on the 9th green without completing the hole, they are violating the rules of the game. According to the rules of golf, a player must complete the hole before lifting their ball, unless they are properly marking it for a specific reason or if it is allowed under particular circumstances.

By picking up the ball without having holed out, the player is not adhering to the established protocol, which is why disqualification is the appropriate ruling in this scenario. This ruling serves to uphold the integrity of the game, ensuring that all players follow the same set of rules and complete each hole as required. A situation like this emphasizes the importance of understanding and adhering to the rules of golf, as any deviation can result in serious consequences affecting the player's standing in the game or tournament.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy