Is a player who checks their downswing voluntarily considered to have made a stroke?

Maximize your PGA Comprehension exam readiness! Engage with this quiz featuring multiple-choice questions with hints and explanations. Ace your test and enhance your career opportunities in golf management.

A player who checks their downswing voluntarily is considered not to have made a stroke because a stroke is defined as the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking the ball. When a player voluntarily checks their downswing, it indicates that they did not intend to strike the ball at that moment.

This concept is crucial in golf rules, as the intention behind the movement of the club is a significant determining factor in whether a stroke has occurred. If the player pulls back or stops their swing before making contact with the ball, no stroke has been executed, which is why the answer is that the player has not made a stroke in this scenario. The other options may suggest different conditions under which a stroke could be counted, but the fundamental rule about the intentionality of the swing remains the key factor.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy