If a player's ball rests against a rake and rolls into a bunker when the rake is removed, what should the player do?

Maximize your PGA Comprehension exam readiness! Engage with this quiz featuring multiple-choice questions with hints and explanations. Ace your test and enhance your career opportunities in golf management.

When a player’s ball rests against an object like a rake and moves as a result of that object being removed, the appropriate action is to replace the ball in its original position. This is grounded in the rules of golf that aim to ensure fairness and consistency. Specifically, when the ball is moved by an external force, such as the removal of the rake, it is not considered the player's action that caused the ball to move.

By replacing the ball at its original position, the player is given back the same situation they were facing before the rake was removed. This upholds the integrity of the game, as it prevents players from gaining or losing unfair advantage due to situations outside their control.

Playing from the bunker or dropping the ball at the original position would not be consistent with the rules. Leaving the ball in the bunker ignores the scenario where the rake’s removal caused the ball to move. Therefore, replacing the ball ensures that the player faces the same challenge they initially had.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy